Job Interview.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Moley 25 Jul 2016
Completely unexpectedly, I had a call yesterday to ask me to be on an interview panel (of 3) tomorrow. It is for a part time job in conservation, a nice outdoor job too and I work as a volunteer for the scheme so they want me to help with some questions and decisions etc.

I have just received the applications from the shortlisted and am going through them, from very highly qualified with little experience to experienced but big gaps in requirements. I always thought it must be a doddle conducting interviews (the stress being on the other side of the table), but I'm already not so sure!
Reading the applications I'm building up a pre-conceived idea of what the candidates will be like, how should I phrase questions, how should I probe for weaknesses and strengths, will I just think "There's something wrong about them"?

All very interesting, I'm looking forward to it in a rather nervous way!
 stubbed 25 Jul 2016
In reply to Moley:

Identify what the job holder needs to be competent in, and ask questions that assess this competency.
Usually it's easier to ask for examples of where they have demonstrated these competencies in the past so you can see how they would have acted in situations.
 Tony the Blade 25 Jul 2016
In reply to Moley:
My interview time is in... I'll watch this thread with added interest
Post edited at 15:29
astley007 25 Jul 2016
In reply to Tony the Blade:

and I am just after you!!!!..hopefully you will help me get myself and the wheelchair up to the third floor?
Cheers
 the sheep 25 Jul 2016
In reply to Moley:

Try ask open questions that the interviewee can expand on if they wish rather than yes no answers.

If you want to drop in a slightly tougher question do it later in the interview. Give them chance to get over initial nerves then you get to find out more about the person.