Scotland Canoeing for idiots

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ebdon 20 Jul 2016
I've recently acquired an inflatable canoe and am off on my hols to north west Scotland next week. Although I'd like to think that its going to be wall to wall sunshine I thought it prudent to plan some wet weather activities, which will most likely involve mucking about in some lochs and possible trying to paddle in to Carn Mor if the weathers nice. as I'm a total novice can anyone inform me if there are any access issues or anything I should be aware of? I've looked at the SCA website but it all seems a bit vague.
Thanks
 Lucy Wallace 20 Jul 2016
In reply to ebdon:
Well..... I'm sure some paddlers will be on shortly to give you safety advice, but for access you should be ok as you'll be there before the stalking season really gets in to full swing. Officially it begins on the 1st of July but these days most estates wait until mid aug at the earliest due to the pressure of hillwalkers on the hill.
If you are accessing an estate during stalking times- then its worth contacting the estate for info. Are you getting to Carn mor from Loch Arkaig? Then its Glen Dessary estate: http://www.glendessary.info/

General rule of thumb if you can't get info on stalking is to stick to paths, ridges and main burnsides in valleys- ie don't cross open hillsides.
Post edited at 13:49
 Pids 20 Jul 2016
In reply to ebdon:

generally no access problems - just don't wander through crops, dragging your boat behind you

lochs can get pretty wild if a squall hits it, the winds get funnelled through the hills which can make large waves on the lochs, be careful
In reply to ebdon: