Canon 6D or somethingelse to replace new 70D? Calm advice pls

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Karakoramian 02 Apr 2016
Hello everyone.

I'm not a newbie into photography in general and I consider myself a quick learner given my field of work is close to photography.

Just finished reading a long topic (with all replies) for someone with the same dilemma last year! I guess until now, there's no official word on the new/MKII 6D. So here is my issue:

Canon 70D was my first proper DSLR about a month ago. I took it with me for mountaineering for a week, had great fun and some superb shots. The experience was enough to make me take this a little more seriously.. 80D was announced the day I received my new 70D, luckily for me, the store manager has kindly agreed to replace the new 70D with 80D once available (which is any day now).

All this got me thinking whether I actually want to move to a full-frame camera rather than these cropped sensors in 70/80D! Furthermore, it got me much more involved into reading about different cameras, setups etc..

From what I gathered, investing in HQ lenses is equally if not more important. So for someone fresh like myself who has no bias towards Nikon or Canon, I would like to know what and where to invest?

What/where I shoot; mainly two areas:

1. I'm mainly keen on mountaineering (winter, snow, summits), landscape and trekking/camping/nature in general. (i.e. 90% of the time I'll be carrying the camera in my backpack)
2. I'm also very keen to learn night/sky photography when I camp in the wilderness. (I hear the 6D is great in low light, some reviewers mentioned it's even better than the 5D III?)

I'd very rarely use the DSLR for anything apart from above mentioned activities. At least that's what I think so far.

Note: I always take my GoPro HERO4 BLACK with me (4K videos in case you want to know the video alternative I've).

So here are the chain of questions to answer my replacement camera: