Tough camera advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Hi all

looking for some advice about tough camera's

I used to own an Olympus tough cant see which model its a few years old, I loved it but it turned out to not be so tough? I think it was the cold that killed it or the wirering has a problem,

so I am in the market for a new camera, I think it will have to be a tough/waterproof one I work as a climbing instructor/coach and river guide in the french alps, and I would love a digital SLR but I need it to be quick to use, take abuse and not break the bank (I saving for some new touring skis ).

here is a link to my photos profile page on 500px to show the kind of thing I like to shoot if that makes any difference or you fancy a look?

https://500px.com/robo7

I am thinking of the Olympus TG-4 I like the idea of being able to shoot raw and have a few lens option's, but a little wary after my last Olympus died,

so any feedback on that model or others that my be an option would be appreciated.

many thanks Rob

paulh.0776 10 Feb 2016
In reply to ecrinscollective:

Just acquired a Fuji Xpro1 as a light weight camera for when I'm out with a heavy sack after seeing how much punishment they can take (a mate of mine has one that is battered and scratched after trekking/climbing etc and still works perfectly). Great retro controls that are easy to use and as its now been upgraded to xpro2 you can pick 2nd hand bodies up on ebay for a song.
 John Kelly 10 Feb 2016
Had 3 various Olympus tough camera's, drowned them all eventually, usually jumping 3 plus metres into deep water will overwhelm the defences, that said they do put up with a lot of stick and apart from the earliest version they dried out ok, take ok pics, reliable companion
Post edited at 19:16

thanks for the replies

will have a look at the Fuji Xpro1 Paul could always stick it in a peli case when boating, MFB i love my tough so maybe another one and not expect it to be that tough?