Rab Ascent 900 sleeping bag

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 msp1987 19 Jan 2016
Good evening,

I am looking to buy a sleeping bag for Scottish winter bothy nights and summer ridge bivies etc. I have no real experience of sleeping bags, I currently use a cheap one I got for TITP the park years ago. I have been drawn to the Rab Ascent 900 as I can get it price matched for £148, it has a comfort rating of -11c. Would this be overkill in the summer time? Would having it unzipped allow it to be used on Scottish summer nights? Ideally I would like only like one bag that can be used all year round.

Thanks for any advice
 JoeyTheFish 19 Jan 2016
In reply to msp1987:

That's a lot of warmth/weight for the uses you mention. For winter camping/ bothys I use a Rab Neutrino 600 (300g less down than Ascent 900). For summer use in the UK I use a Rab Neutrino 200 (700g less down than Ascent 900). I also use a liner inside to help with temp control - if the fire has been on in the bothy then I might not touch the sleeping bag until the early hours.

A liner also helps to keep your expensive/faffy to wash sleeping bag clean.

Having one sleeping bag for all year round is not ideal. If I had to I'd probably go for a mid weight bag and supplement it with a liner for winter.
 crayefish 19 Jan 2016
In reply to JoeyTheFish:
> Having one sleeping bag for all year round is not ideal.

To say the least! I have gone as far as having 3 bags... Though they were bought over a number of years.

Scottish winter biving - down bag with water resistant shell (ME Glacier 1000)
Autumn camping - synthetic with stretchy knee area (ME Sleepwalker II TDS)
Summer camping/indoors - some cheapish light bag from a camping shop
Post edited at 21:44
 Iain Thow 19 Jan 2016
In reply to msp1987: