Beginner alpine routes - Alps

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
tomjbennett1 08 Jul 2015
So I'm going to walk the Tour du Mont Blanc solo late August, and if all goes to plan, I'll have a couple of days to kill in Chamonix once I've completed the route.
Now, I want to use the time to hire the appropriate gear and have a go at some easier ascent routes in the area. The first problem is that I'm a total beginner. I've never had any winter walking experience, but I do know the basics of crampon and ice axe uses and know how to rope up.
I'll also be alone. I'm hoping that I'll meet some people that I can tag along with when I'm there but if all else fails, is there anywhere I can simply have a play and get accustomed to the gear over a couple of days?
I know, I know, I should get sufficient training - and I'd love to, but simply can't afford any guides for this trip. Any help or advice would be wonderful, thanks!
 yorkshirebloke 08 Jul 2015
In reply to tomjbennett1:

Done the same thing a few times solo TMB then Days out up high...
I need to grab my maps and recount where I went at work tonight but I can let you know more later or tomorrow...
Its a great place for getting partners, great tourist info weather and maps - all English speakers
I recommend you use the lifts and walk hut to hut across dry glaciers is ok just keep off deep snow on glaciers when alone...

R
 goose299 09 Jul 2015

You've never used poons or an axe.
Fork out and get a guide. You'll enjoy it more
 Derry 09 Jul 2015

If you go up the Grand Montets cable car (from Argientiere) it takes you up to the snowfield below Aguille Petite Vert. I was there on Monday and there were a tonne of people practicing cramponing and ice axe technique. Admittedly they were all with guides and in their droves, but I did think 'what a great place to learn technique'. Straight off the cable car and there is some easy angled ground with no major danger if you slip. I'll send you a pic.