Which trail shoes?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
XXXX 29 May 2015
So it's been about, ooh, 10 years since I have had to dip into the off road running shoe market as I've been buying innov8 terroc 330s since they were invented. This last few years I've been buying the original model in sales and clearance and I even bought two pairs last time but finally they are dead.

So what do I do now? I feel like a complete novice so any pointers gratefully received.

I live on the South Downs so they need to be best on chalky, slippery, hard ground but able to cope with softer, marshy brooks, steep muddy slopes, sandy trails and a bit of tarmac. (Not much to ask)

I don't want to go through the uppers in 3 months. Mostly runs of between 6 and 20 miles, twice a week at the moment.

Paul Robertson 29 May 2015
In reply to XXXX:

I just bought a pair of Inov8 Roclite 295, mail order from Needlesports. They were on special offer - 60 quid. They only just arrived, but they look pretty good.
 The New NickB 29 May 2015
In reply to XXXX:

I've not tried the terroc, so difficult to compare. I also run on quite different terrain to the South Downs.

What I would say is that I have been disappointed with the longevity of uppers with both Inov-8 and Salomon.
 mbh 29 May 2015
In reply to XXXX:

The uppers of my current Mizunos had a big rip in them after 120 miles! The pair before went after 600 miles. But they fit me well, better than Ionv8s do, and would be good on your sort of terrain, except for the muddy slopes where something more aggressive would be better. I use them on the Cornish coast path.
XXXX 29 May 2015
In reply to The New NickB:

I agree about the uppers which is why I mentioned it. I just dealt with it and ran with holes in my shoes before because they worked for me but now I am free of that particular shackle, I might as well find a brand who know how to stitch.

Experience of Salomon noted.
XXXX 29 May 2015
In reply to mbh: