Recommend me a Bivvy bag

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mostin3 27 May 2015
Hello all,

I'm new to the world of Bivvy bags but I need one for this coming weekend. Could someone recommend me a decent one and reasons why?

Thanks in advance
JonnoMaude 27 May 2015
In reply to Mostin3:

I've just recently bought an alpkit hunka xl... Its budget price wise, however I have to say having used it a few times now, have had no problems whatsoever with it!

Used it once in a snow cave, and twice in a cave (one time with rain blowing in) and no condense or breathability problems, which for the money is amazing!

Plus, it being the hunka version, there's space for boots, roll mat clothes the lot and the use of a big bag as a quilt! Soo comfortable being able to move around within the thing
In reply to JonnoMaude:

+1 for the Hunka
 Kermi 27 May 2015
In reply to Mostin3:

+1 for Hunka XL
 tjin 27 May 2015
In reply to Mostin3:

For what use?

- Just in case. Superlight, cheap, non-breathing, alluminium coated inside to reflect heat, hopefully keep you warm enough so you won't die; AMK SOL BIVVY (Mylar like bag, but a different laminate which is stronger/silent)
- Cheap, durable and breathable; old army bivvy. Build like a tank, but weights like a tank too.

- For planned trips, i have a (discontinued) breathable Wafo bivvybag, which has a long zipper in the middle. Allowing you to craw inside it much easier and allows you to control the airflow, when you get to hot or need to get rid of moisture.
In reply to Mostin3:

+1 for hunka xl
In reply to Mostin3:

Another predictable vote for the Alpkit Hunka, but I'd use a tarp instead given the choice.
 jonnie3430 27 May 2015
In reply to Mostin3:

Another vote for the Alpkit one.
 RyanOsborne 27 May 2015
In reply to Mostin3: