Academic interview advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Trevers 07 Apr 2015
I have an interview next week for a research masters project in a sciency subject. It's in a subject I have no prior knowledge of, having studied physics for my first degree, but it's quite mathematical so the physics should help.

So far, my preparation has involved studying textbooks to give myself a background in the subject and I'm moving onto reading research papers to get up to date with the current level of understanding. Can anyone who's done an MRes give me some indication of what I might get asked in an interview? Are they likely to grill me in depth about the subject or am I just stressing myself out too much? Should I instead expect 'why here/this subject?' type questions?

Also, what should I wear? A suit seems like overkill but might jeans seem too casual?
 Roadrunner5 08 Apr 2015
In reply to Trevers:
I've never been grilled too much on subject matter.

Occasionally they will throw the odd term at you.

I had 'What does the term ecosystem resilience mean to you'

And 'What is the greatest threat to the oceans at the moment?'

But apart from that more why here, why this post, where do you see yourself in 10 years time? How does this position fit in your longer term plan?

And then specific questions on my background and how that fits into their needs

I'd look at bigger picture stuff, where their research fits into the field and what the main issues are, then drill into their more recent publications.

Good luck. Just beware that a lot of academic posts are internal positions, advertised for the sake of it, with the position already lined up for someone else. So sometimes they can be pretty shit to you.

Interviews vary a lot, some you get a fair go at, some I thought were horrible.

re what to wear, suit or at least a shirt, trousers, tie..
Post edited at 01:01
In reply to Trevers: