Are Vertige axes still worth using?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Duncan Beard 21 Feb 2015
I'm just starting out in winter mountaineering. In addition to a light walking axe, I have these 'climbing' axes:
1 Glace Inox trad style pick adze, 50 cm (looks like a short walking axe)
1 Mountain Technology Vertige droop pick hammer, 45cm

So far I've only done a couple of grade I/II routes. I'm thinking with these I could probably do III but maybe not IV.

Is it worth buying a Vertige droop pick adze off Ebay to go with the hammer?

I don't have ambitions to lead IV this winter but I might be seconding III/IV shortly. I don't want to spend too much at the moment.
 Casa Alfredino 21 Feb 2015
In reply to Duncan Beard:

People used to do VII's with vertiges - yeah they will never be as good as a newer pair of axes but as a general all round mountaineering axe you could do a lot worse especially if you are on a budget!
 tim000 21 Feb 2015
only done 1 ice climb , but it was a iv with vertage axes . seemed ok , but nothing to compare it to.
Post edited at 17:08

I did loads with my Vertiges - they were a great axe in their day. I'd be wary of using any axe over 10 years old if it's obviously had a lot of hammer due to the possibilty of metal fatigue but if it's in good condition and you know its history then it should be OK. If you can find a spare pick on ebay at a reasonable price it would be a good investment as there haven't been any available for years.
 Andy Say 21 Feb 2015

Vertiges were great tools. There is no problem keeping in touch with the past and climbing with them; I still do.

Just watch your knuckles! Those straight shafts.......

Which are great for plunging in soft crud it has to be said.
 John Ww 21 Feb 2015

To answer the original question - I bloody hope so!!

JW
 Jon Wylie 21 Feb 2015

Duncan,