Some running questions and a Strava question.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 flopsicle 14 Feb 2015
I've been running (well jogging) for a couple of years off and on, probably more off! I ran initially just to get fitter after quitting smoking, both were to improve with climbing. I live in a hilly area and refused to drive to run so it's always been either up or down and when I have (3 times ever) tried running on the flat I loathe it with unbridled passion. So, when I run it's hills, or if I'm really lucky it's clay mud and silly steep hills!

Until the last few weeks I'd always walked bits of a run, usually just prior to steep running or just after, recently it's not always, sometimes I stay running before and after a climb - this is new to me and I quite like it. But I can't always keep running. I run about 10 miles a week with around 1000ft elevation.

My first question is about walking in a run. I'm finding it hard to get running again after I've walked. It's probably partly because I'm trying not to walk so when I have it's been because the terrain has just spanked me good and proper, or due to passing dogs etc.
Are there any things that can help to up the pace again after walking or stopping?

My second question is about maximum heart rate. I've realised maximum doesn't mean it explodes if made to go faster, I realised that after my heart rate monitor (bought last week) got stuck and then when it was unstuck I was about 20 BPM faster than 220 - 44! It was on a bit of my long run I do often so I knew it doesn't lead to certain death, in fact, apart from blowing like a train I felt ok. Later in the same run I kept thinking it had stuck again as I felt battered but it hadn't, it was no higher than 165 at times I felt slaughtered.
How can it feel worse (more done in) when the heart is working less?