Winter Alpinism in the Canadian Rockies?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Chris Ellyatt 04 Dec 2014
Hi

So I am booked for a couple of weeks in Canmore during January, and looking forward to a decent stretch of ice climbing! My main passion is Alpine, longer routes, however. I have some summer Alpine experience, and even some (limited) winter Alpine experience (on easier routes) - but I know nothing about the conditions out in the Canadian Rockies.

My instinct tells me there would be way too much powder to make is feasible - is this correct? Obviously there would be a lot of skinning up involved...but I would be grateful for any info!

Thanks,

Chris
 GraMc 04 Dec 2014
In reply to Chris Ellyatt:

Depends where you go, the east side of the range is actually relatively dry, and people definitely get out alpine climbing over the winter, you would most likely need skis or snowshoes for the approaches though. however as a general rule of thumb, unless you really enjoy suffering there will probably be too much snow for a lot of the objectives, And it will also be totally baltic (much colder than European alps in winter).

Having said that, someone else might have better information, I lived there for 6 months, but unfortunately it was only over the summer. The ice climbing there is world class though, and i would have thought you would be better off enjoying what most people seem to regard as the best ice in the world, rather than scary, loose, and not (quite) as good alpine routes.
Chris Ellyatt 04 Dec 2014
In reply to Ginger McGrath:

Thanks!

For some reason I love suffering and being scared, so I might get out for one route! But yeah I'm looking forward to some great ice! I've just never been ice climbing for such a sustained time, so I feel like I might need some recovery time...if an alpine route can be described as that!

Chris
 Damo 04 Dec 2014