scrambling equipment

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
bricknall 24 Nov 2014
Hi all, I've been walking for a couple of years and inevitably got into scrambling as its far more exciting that plain old walking. Done a few grade 1s, jacks rake lakes, triffan snowdonia, planning on sharp edge, crib goch etc. However im looking at progressing to grade 2 and 3 stuff as it opens a lot of doors and it something to push my boundaries a bit more. Im fairly confident with my skill near the floor eg bouldering however the extra exposure of grade 2 and 3 does unsettle me somewhat.
So im looking at doing some indoor climbing lessons to learn how to rope up and use different equipment. I am aware that out in the hills its different and thats where im lookng for advice. My initial questions are what basic essentials do i need? what rope, length/thickness? Also should i go for cams or nuts? Leaning towards nuts as they're a considerable amount cheeper. What sizes would be sensible if I dont want to spend a bomb on a full set? What other equipment for abseiling if we need to get down fairly quickly? I already have a harness amde by singing rock, seem to be suitable for what im planning on doing? Also any other advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
 Michael Gordon 24 Nov 2014
In reply to bricknall:

There is very little which can be considered 'essential' for scrambling. If you are thinking of bringing ropes/gear though, then take plenty slings as well.
 alooker 24 Nov 2014
In reply to bricknall: get in contact with a local MIA and get out scrambling with them - they will tailor a day/half day of teaching you things that you will need and use, a local wall is just going to teach you to climb at a local wall I'm afraid.
robapplegate 24 Nov 2014
In reply to bricknall: