Help me choose: Montane v ME v Arct' belay jackets

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
iamaclimber 02 Nov 2014
Hi

Can anyone offer any insights or advice on the Montane Flux versus the ME Fitzroy as a belay jacket for cold Scottish climbing. Also how does the new Spitfire jacket and Ice Guide jacket from Montane compare? The Arcteryx Atom SV is another option that I am considering.

Many thanks
 RoK 02 Nov 2014
In reply to iamaclimber:

No experience of any of those but the Atom SV has been replaced by the Atom AR so you might get a deal on an SV if price is a big factor.
I have an AR and it's a bit trim fitting for a belay jacket.
 nv 02 Nov 2014
In reply to iamaclimber:

I've used a few heavy duty jackets from these companies. I work in a shop that sells them.

The only two for consideration:

M.E. Citadel Jacket
Black Diamond Belay Parka (once you cut off the stupid zip toggles and replace with cord)

Nick
 Neil Pratt 02 Nov 2014
In reply to iamaclimber:

Being a total gear addict, I have an Atom SV, an ME Fitzroy and an Ice Guide - I need help! The Atom and Fitzroy are broadly comparable in terms of warmth - bought the Atom in last years sales and it seems to loft more and feels more like down when on, but the Fitzroy has been very dependable for a few years now - face fabric has held up to Winter climbing punishment. I bought the Ice Guide to try as a 'one layer' solution, but to be honest, I've only used it for winter activities where it's a substitute for a down jacket - it's nicely fitted, warm and easier to clean/look after than a down jacket, but maybe too trim to be worn over multiple layers.
 smuffy 02 Nov 2014
In reply to Nick.V:
Plus one for the ME Citadel, it's so toasty.
Post edited at 19:30
iamaclimber 02 Nov 2014
In reply to Neil Pratt:

Cheers. Would you class the Ice Guide as a belay jacket? Would it work over a shell and a couple of layers? I found the Atom quite fitter when I tried it too.