Smart phone data speeds

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Green Porridge 07 Oct 2014
Hi,

So after two recent trips where I've seen the benefits of a smart phone over my old battered on-its-way-out thing, I've decided to get with the century. The problem is, I find it very hard to get a feel for what is fast/slow, good/bad, lots of data/hardly any. I imagine I would be mostly using data for things like looking up weather forecasts, train times, quickly checking something on the internet (restaurant opening times etc.) just quickly whilst on the go. I'm not planning on watching videos on youtube, etc. Maybe I'd download the occasional podcast, but then I doubt more than a 30 minute show per month. Does 300Mb per month at 7.2 MBit/s sound like far too much/far too little or frustratingly slow for that bit of browsing? I'm particularly struggling with how fast that really is.

Any advice would be most welcome - as I said, I'm totally new to smart phones and mobile internet, so any general pointers would be welcome as well! I'm looking currently at a Samsung galaxy s4 mini, if it makes any difference.

Cheers!
 Alan M 07 Oct 2014
In reply to Green Porridge:
300mb per month to me sounds like not enough. Remember if you are away from wifi (and depending on your settings) your apps will use data to update, find locations, transmit data etc eating in to the 300mb before you even do any internet searching etc.

Just checked my data use in the last week I have used 156mb on the internet, 86mb on the Facebook, 347mb on Google Play store, 10.37mb on Google maps and 12mb downloading emails.

I have unlimited 4g data and can use up to 10GB a month I stream a lot on Youtube, SkyGO, Iplayer etc. I rarely use wifi as the 4G in my area is super fast. I will also tether laptops and tablets to the mobile due to the speed of the 4G networks obviously this is very data intensive.
Post edited at 22:19
 Gazlynn 07 Oct 2014