Recommend me a winter climbing course

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Ive been climbing for 30 years now, and have something of a hole in my experiences: apart from a brief foray to Cham in my students days, I've never done any snow or ice stuff. As I'm getting older, it's becoming more attractive, mainly through looking at the brilliant photos posted on here by other UKCers.

Ideally, I want to get to a point where I can do some of the more classic mountain ridges both in the UK and Europe, and look at some of the independent trekking peaks in Nepal.

We don't get snow in Cornwall.

To get going, it strikes me that a decent course would be sensible - there not being much of a local network for winter climbing - and Scotland would be the place. Any suggestions / tales of experience? Best to go with somebody like Glenmore, or would a decent guide give more practical experience?

Many thanks

Martin
 blackcat 21 Sep 2014
In reply to maisie:Hi, ive done both a course and one to one guiding and find ive learned much more from the latter.

In reply to blackcat:

But when you had the guide, did you already have some skills? I'm at an age where I'm happy to start at the bottom and work upwards, rather than try to bluff it out.....

Which guide did you use?

Martin
 blackcat 21 Sep 2014
In reply to maisie: I went to the guides office in grindelwald a good few years ago now and hired a guide for seven days,expensive but so worth it.At the the time i was climbing winter grade twos,which i actually started off on because there so straight forward imo.The guide i had taught me so much,answered all my questions and near to the end of it we were like best pals.It gave me so much confidence,i cant reccomend it enough.
 Mountain Llama 21 Sep 2014
In reply to maisie: pyb Scottish coarse, done 2 in the past. Great instructors who also know the area v well, good standard of accommodation and food.

Aigen 21 Sep 2014
In reply to maisie: