Advice on starting to take running more seriously.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Swirly 08 Sep 2014

Hi, I'm after some general advice on running training/goals. I've read a fair bit but am slightly confused about some of the terminology.

I've been running for about 3 months or so, mainly 5/10 km between 1 and 3 times a week. This was started as a way to lose weight and get fit after realising a massive kick up the arse was needed. I have got to the point where, begrudgingly, I'd say I'm enjoying the running.

Someone at work has suggested running a half marathon in March so now I'm trying to come up with a decent time to aim for. The distance doesn't worry me; I ran 17 km yesterday and felt OK at the end. I do realise that upping distance from 10 km like that isn't the best idea but I wanted a better idea of what I could cope with. Now I'm pretty fit but slow. Current PB for 10 km is 56 minutes* and the 17km took me 1hr 34.

* I'd also like to knock this below 50 minutes, something I got near years ago, but that's a side goal.

Questions: From this base is a target time of 1 hr 50 sensible? Given the time available should I aim faster or slower? I have no idea. Realistically I could get out 3 times a week on top of cycling to/from work and an intense badminton session.

On the training front I've read a lot of plans that talk about slow runs, fast runs and tempo runs but nothing that really explains what they are. How would slow and fast compare to target pace?

What does tempo mean, I took it to be like threshold in cycling but something I read suggested it might be intervals?

Is there any accurate way to judge pace while running, currently I base effort on how well I can speak: aiming to be able to talk in half sentences, if I can say a whole sentence I speed up a bit if it's only 2 or 3 words I slow down a bit.