Advice to keep me and my 3 girls safe

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
BuzzI 20 Aug 2014
Right guys and girls, I am a novice when it comes to hill walking and need some general advice about keeping me and my kids safe.

we are quite typical of having all the gear a d no idea....I want to push my kids to achieve and want them to challenge themselves. My mind is quite focussed on setting out for a days trek somewhere in the Lake District very early doors. I want to stand at the foot of a huge hill/mountain and say right....we are going to the top of that to set camp and have lunch...I plan b q/ camping stove meal. I am considering a nights wild camping on the sumit....if allowed

I do not want to put my three girls in harms way....they are aged 10 with twins aged 8.....am I bonkers for trying.....or should I do this!!!

I need general advice on essential kit/ health and safety/suggestions for routes etc........please help and thanks in advance!!!!
 Welsh Kate 21 Aug 2014
In reply to BuzzI:
When I was out in Snowdonia in May I saw a family camping at a lake in the Carneddau. It was a couple of miles from the roadhead, and they weren't backpacking as such, just walking in with lightweight tents but a load of supplies and spending a couple of days chilling out at the highest lake in Wales. But they clearly had the idea as well as all the gear!

In your boots, and you say you're a novice hillwalker, I'd start off easy, keeping low level in the valleys and walking to a commercial campsite for the night. It'll still be a big adventure for the girls and be much safer for a family new to hillwalking, and there are plenty of basic campsites if you want to keep it simple and more like a wildcamp.