Which "next level" rock shoes?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 dakidunn 22 Jul 2014
Hi,
I have been climbing for about five years, normally twice a week indoors and once a week outside. I can lead up to VS comfortably and am now looking to push my grade.
I have only ever climbed in Scarpa Force shoes and have had three pairs and numerous re-solings. As I push my grades, I really don't trust my feet/shoes.
I'm looking for something more confidence inspiring but not too technical or downturned. I do climb multi pitch and want something I can wear all day without being crippled.
I have looked at the Scarpa Vapour and Boostic shoes but I'm worried these may not fit the bill.
I have around £100 - £120 to spend and ideally want a comfortable, hard wearing shoe I can edge in and smear with.
Any recommendations or reviews would be greatly appreciated.
Many thanks
Mark
 tehmarks 22 Jul 2014
In reply to dakidunn:

The only answer is whatever fits - there's really no substitute for going down to a shop and trying on lots and lots of shoes that fit the description of what you want.
 Morgan Woods 22 Jul 2014
In reply to dakidunn:

I have never really got on with Scarpas (although it sounds like you do) so favour 5.10 and La Sportiva. Like you I like comfort over anything too radical. My "go to" shoes are Anasazi velcro, Katana velcro & lace ups for pretty much anything. Check out and see what you reckon....I would say however if you don't trust your feet you may also want to work on your footwork (irrespective of shoe choice) as follows:
- visually line up the foothold and place your foot correctly ONCE
- ie don't move your foot around too much once it is placed
- always use several lower foot placements instead of one big high step
- use twice as many foot movements as hand ones
- film and review video footage of just your feet
This is just one person's opinion but it might offer something useful.
 Skyfall 22 Jul 2014
In reply to dakidunn: