100 British Mountains.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Wiley 15 Jul 2014
Hi everyone,

This is my first post, I'm new to the online mountaineering scene. I have an idea:

Walk to the top of the 100 mountains, of a relative height of 600m or more, in Great Britain (96 to be exact) in one go. The plan would be to hike/climb to a summit, if the next is within walking distance continue onto it. If not then mount up in the vehicle we will be living out of and move to the next mountain. I've made some calculations working out the distance of the nearest major road to the summit, taking into account elevation of the climb, distance to next start point etc.. I have come up with the following results.

Hiking Time: 17 days.
Driving Time: 5 days.
Total Time: 22 days.
Total Expedition Time (inc rest/personal administration): 44 days.

Average Distance Per Day: 14 miles.
Total Hiking Distance: 629 miles.
Total Driving Distance: 844 miles.
Total Expedition Distance: 1473 miles.

I plan to do this as part of a military adventure training expedition, raising money for a forces charity and hopefully promoting the appeal of the British wilderness.

My reason for posting here is really to ask your opinions, is this achievable? Too easy? Worth it?

Any feedback would be gladly received,

Kind regards,

Mark "Wiley" Wileman.
In reply to Wiley:

I don't understand the objective: "the 100 mountains, of a relative height of 600m or more, in Great Britain (96 to be exact)"

There's many more than 96 British mountains higher than 600m - all the Munros for starters. Even England can muster more than 96. Is there something I'm missing?

Ramblin dave 15 Jul 2014
In reply to Turdus torquatus:

600m prominence, not absolute height, I think.

Sounds like quite a trip!
Lusk 15 Jul 2014
In reply to Wiley:

You need a minimum drop of 50% height of the last summit for the next one to be legit!
In reply to Turdus torquatus: