Building a Website

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Yanis Nayu 28 Apr 2014
I need to build a professional-looking website, with dual language options, links to social networking sites and preferably the ability to pay via Paypal.

I've never done anything like this - does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
In reply to Submit to Gravity:

I use "wordpress". Are you going to host it yourself, or are you looking for a free site?
 splat2million 29 Apr 2014

If you have hosting that supports it, a content management system like Drupal might meet your needs.
I've not used Paypal in a website but I imagine most of the functionality is provided from Paypal's site and a cut-and-paste link.
 ByEek 29 Apr 2014

Either create a noddy blog style site or pay someone to do it for you.
 yorkshireman 29 Apr 2014

I was a professional web developer since 1995 (moved more into solution architecture now) but unless I had a lot of time on my hands I'd think about getting someone to do this for me. If you've never done this before you will be biting off more than you can chew.

However you could always use it as a learning experience - but if this is your first site, by the time you've finished it, and know much more than you do now, you will look back and think its not up to scratch and get sucked into a black hole of constant reinvention.

Is it urgent?
Is it important (critical to business)?
Do you have day job?

If the answer to any of those is yes I'd consider hiring someone. Especially if your motivation is to just get the site built, as opposed to actually learning the skills for yourself to use in the future.
 Milesy 29 Apr 2014
My opinion is:

If you want an actual professional website - get a professional to do it. And all these template sites might look professional to people who don't know, but they aren't.