Ama Dablam general advise needed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Mike-Tango 20 Apr 2014

Hello fellow Mountaineers,
I've been climbing for about 20 years , rock ice mixed ,alpine, cave , canyon and lots more but for the first time I will be climbing in the Himalayas. I'm planing to climb Island Peak and Ama Dablam by the end of this year and any little tips and bits of useful information related to the subject would be priceless for me.
Tips on clothing ?
what did you wear?
what layers how and when ?
any suggestions/recommendations on fabrics?
what camping gear?
self inflating mats or foamies?
gas or petrol stoves ?
solar panels?
satellite phones/ electronics?
Cameras?
what food?
what fitness training prior to the climb?
has anybody used the InReach satellite beacon?
Where to get detailed maps of the area with any readable grid reference?
prices of the local services and fees , checkpoints etc?

these are just a few things I have thought of at the moment but anything worth knowing re this climb is more than welcome in here, please share your thoughts.

Many thanks
Cheers
Mike
Post edited at 14:17
 sam benson 20 Apr 2014
In reply to Mike-Tango:

Look at the company websites for lots of good info, eg Jagged Globe , Tim Mosedale etc they all have kit lists etc, anything more detailed message me with specifics and will do my best to answer as have climbed both. all the best Sam
Mike-Tango 20 Apr 2014
hmm.. I've got the kit list , my question was more about personal preferences and lil tips worth knowing but thank you just found some other kit lists and recommendations online , many thanks
 radson 21 Apr 2014
In reply to Mike-Tango:
I have climbed it twice (although second time I turned around 30 minutes from the top)