Tips for a beginner

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Dervey 01 Dec 2012
Hi,
REALLY new to photography, only just got myself a point and shoot. I'm looking for top tips for a total novice (other than get out and take loads, which I'm already trying to do). I've got a very small selection of a couple of my favourites so far on here.
Tips on anything at all would be great, for example what do you know now, that you wish you had known back when you started?
 HarmM 01 Dec 2012
In reply to Dervey: I found when starting out digital photography school (google them) really helpful when starting they've got a really good section for beginners

Hope this helps
OP Dervey 03 Dec 2012
In reply to Dervey: Thanks for the advice guys, got into the lakes this weekend and got some pictures, any feedback on what I've put on here would be much appreciated.
Removed User 03 Dec 2012
In reply to Dervey:
Learn the basics of exposure and composition, pretty easy really and then practice so it's second nature.

Next bit: look at all the photographers you can, look at heaps of stuff from photo journo to art to landscape to contemporary to portrait. Read and look at as much as you can and then find your own style and voice.
 Russell Lovett 03 Dec 2012
In reply to Dervey: if taking bouldering or climbing photos move all the clutter ie ruckcacks jackets and the like out of the shot. Basic but makes for a much better shot.
What Goes Up 03 Dec 2012