Tent advice from Snow and Rock?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jim Houghton 06 Jul 2011
I'm a novice with tents but heading to the alps next week and planning to take a tent rather than bivvy. Have been given £100 of snow and rock vouchers as a present so planning to head there later today but can't really work out what I should be looking for. The cheap vango tents (http://www.snowandrock.com/tents/camping/fcp-category/list?resetFilters=tru... look pretty decent for the price, or the MH ones around £200. Anyone know anything about these/have experience with them?

Thanks,

Jim
 The Lemming 06 Jul 2011
In reply to Jim Houghton:

If you are planning to camp on a Campsite then may I suggest that you get the biggest tent you can afford as well as carry?

Comfort is everything, especially as it can rain quite a lot and you will need somewhere to hide from the rain and expensive shops.

Tom Last 06 Jul 2011

I've got a 2man Vango Tornado. Cheap-ish, solid build, very stable AND it's got nice old school orange bits on it. Winner!
OP Jim Houghton 06 Jul 2011
In reply to Jim Houghton: Sorry, I was unclear. We're staying in a house in the valley, this is for the mountain.
In reply to Jim Houghton: I think that you need to be even clearer. You need to be aware that in some areas, Chamonix for example, wild camping is NOT allowed. If you are climbing rather than walking do you REALLY want to carry a tent?

Al
 Timmd 06 Jul 2011

If it was me I think i'd go for one of the more expensive Mountain Hardware tents, the MH Lightpath tent looks like it has a windshedding shape, but the mesh inner would be cooler in winter than a non mesh inner.

The Hubbah Hubbah HP might be a better buy if you can afford it, if you're thinking of camping with a friend in the future or in winter, from being bigger and not having mesh on the inner.

I think you need to think about what seasons you're likely to be camping in and who with and where, to help you decide.